Dec. 13, 2017

HARRISBURG – Reps. Garth Everett (R-Lycoming/Union), Tina Pickett (R-Bradford/Sullivan/Susquehanna) and Jeff Wheeland (R-Lycoming) said today that the 64-mile Loyalsock Creek in Lycoming, Sullivan and Wyoming counties has been nominated for River of the Year and urge area residents to vote for the creek online.

“We are blessed with a number of beautiful natural resources in this area, and we are proud that Loyalsock Creek has been named one of five nominees for Pennsylvania River of the Year,” the lawmakers said. “The Loyalsock is a top-notch trout fishery and a wonderful stream for kayaking and tubing and, in addition, has the 59-mile Loyalsock Trail, which runs along it and has many excellent vistas of the creek and the Endless Mountains.”

Other outstanding features along the Loyalsock are Worlds End State Park, High Knob Vista and the Haystacks, which are mounds of sandstone that outcrop in the creek near Dushore. Along with being a cold-water habitat for trout, it also supports a natural habitat for the Eastern Hellbender, the largest native amphibian in Pennsylvania that grows to 2 feet in length or more.

“From its headwaters in Wyoming County to its mouth on the West Branch of the Susquehanna River at Montoursville, much work has been and is being done by governmental and non-governmental partners to improve erosion and sedimentation conditions along the creek, address acid mine drainage and generally improve the water quality of the creek,” said Everett. “Winning River of the Year will highlight the work that has been done to date and help us keep our gem of a waterway in prime condition going forward.”

This award effort is sponsored by the Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources (DCNR) and the Pennsylvania Organization for Watersheds and Rivers initiative.

After a waterway is chosen for the annual honor, local groups implement a year-round slate of activities and events to celebrate the river, including a paddling trip, or sojourn. The organization nominating the winning river will receive a $10,000 leadership grant from DCNR to help fund River of the Year activities.

To cast a vote for Loyalsock Creek, residents are urged to visit here.

Representative Garth D. Everett
84th District
Representative Tina Pickett
110th District
Representative Jeff C. Wheeland
83rd District

Media Contact: Raymond Smith