Jan. 05, 2021

HARRISBURG – Rep. Tina Pickett (R-Bradford/Sullivan/Susquehanna) today took the oath of office to begin her 11th term in the Pennsylvania House of Representatives during a ceremony at the state Capitol in Harrisburg.

Pickett also announced that she has been reappointed to serve a fifth term as chair of the House Insurance Committee, which works to ensure that the state’s insurance laws are fairly protecting consumers.

“As we begin a new legislative session, one of our top priorities is to continue the work that is already underway to guarantee the integrity of future elections in Pennsylvania. Our review of the 2020 election is expected to result in changes that will lead to renewed trust in the election process, which many voters currently do not have,” said Pickett. “We will continue our work to return economic prosperity to families and business owners who have struggled to survive the pandemic, and also ensure that our schools can provide the highest quality of education to students.”

To view or download a broadcast-quality video of Pickett’s comments, visit here.

The swearing-in ceremony marked the official start of the 2021-22 Legislative Session. Republicans currently hold the majority with 113 seats, including the vacancy created by the untimely death of Rep. Mike Reese (R-Westmoreland/Somerset) on Saturday. Fourteen new Republican House members were sworn in today. Members also re-elected Rep. Bryan Cutler (R-Lancaster) as Speaker of the House.

“I am proud and humbled to once again be able to serve my friends and neighbors in our region and look forward to getting to work on their behalf in the new session,” Pickett added.

To limit the number of persons in the House chamber, the oath of office was administered four times to four separate groups of members to help mitigate the spread of COVID-19. Members and guests were also required to wear face masks and follow social distancing guidelines.

Pickett represents the 110th Legislative District, which includes part of Bradford County consisting of the townships of Albany, Asylum, Athens, Burlington, Franklin, Herrick, Leroy, Litchfield, Monroe, North Towanda, Orwell, Overton, Pike, Rome, Sheshequin, Standing Stone, Stevens, Terry, Towanda, Tuscarora, Ulster, Warren, Wilmot, Windham, Wyalusing and Wysox and the boroughs of Athens, Burlington, Leraysville, Monroe, New Albany, Rome, Sayre, South Waverly, Towanda and Wyalusing; all of Sullivan County and part of Susquehanna County consisting of the townships of Apolacon, Auburn, Dimock, Lathrop, Middletown, Rush and Springville and the boroughs of Friendsville, Hop Bottom and Little Meadows.

Representative Tina Pickett
110th Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Andy Briggs
RepPickett.com / Facebook.com/RepPickett
Pickett Takes Oath of Office for 11th Term in PA House